Tags

, , ,

Drunk Mama has mentioned before that Friday night’s are pizza-and-movie nights around these parts.  Well it is true for myself and Mouse Trap too.  Mudpie and Drunk Mama (heck Sober Dad too) make some killer pizzas.  Not to be outdone I have brought over some lessons I have learned from countless pizza-and-movie nights with them to the Man’s kitchen.  A while ago he splurged on a baking stone, a pizza paddle, and utensils and then we were off and running.  Each time I make the dough.  Some times I win, sometimes I lose. Here is a tip that we are working with of late:  heat up the baking stone and put the dough on the hot stone raw with the toppings and then cook it.  Pre-baking the crust hasn’t worked out so well for us.  Okay, picture time!  This was our latest creation: End of summer veggie pizza or some other creative name.

Veggies on board!  Pale yellow green peppers, roasted tomato, jalapeno, hot red pepper, red onion, broccoli, roasted baby eggplant (in oven not on board), and basil.  The lemon was for our dinner making cocktail. ;)

I stretched out the dough.  Boy am I bad at this part.  I stretched and rolled and let it rest and did it some more.  I used cornmeal to keep it from sticking to the paddle.  Also,  I threw in a couple of basil leaves into the dough hence the green specks.  It was a waste of basil.After pre-heating the stone while simultaneously roasting the baby eggplant slices and tomato slices we started loading up the pizza.  We started with a little oil and minced garlic.  Okay a ton of garlic.  4 cloves of garlic I think. Then we added the roasted tomato slices, roasted eggplant slices, red onion strips, bell pepper strips, broccoli, and then sprinkled on the jalapeno and red hot pepper.  We also used some leftover French Feta (to die for!) and some leftover gruyere/cheddar blend from Trader Joe’s that didn’t make it in the tomato pie experiments held back in July.

When it came out of the oven we topped it with some nasturtium leaves from the plant on the deck.  They added a nice peppery spice to the pizza.  Oddly enough Mikey, I mean Mouse Trap, who will eat anything was not a fan of the nasturtium.  Well, at least they were pretty!

We chose a Durnberg Gruner Veltliner L&T 2008 that we had tasted recently at Menotomy Beer and Wine.  Very crisp and clean.  Perfect with the salty feta, bright veggies, and spicy hot peppers. You have to use an Austrian/German accent while drinking this wine.  You should know that this wine is affordable and delicious.

Finally, I will leave you with a photo of a bite of the pizza.  This pizza was fantastic.  The photos, not so much.  My favorite thing about this pizza is that we did not go to the store for a single ingredient.  Everything was from a weekly Farm CSA, or grown by ourselves or friends.  I am already looking forward to next summer to have this again!

